Don’t Let the Weather Ruin Your Hunting Trip

Don’t you hate it when you have a hunting trip planned and the forecast calls for lousy weather? Have you ever postponed a camping trip because it was too cold or rainy? I don’t have that problem anymore.Last November I decided to go to deer camp with my brother and some friends. We made our plans a few weeks in advance so we’d have plenty of time to get our camping equipment ready. As opening day of deer season got closer, I kept an eye on the Weather Channel and things didn’t look very promising. The forecast was for a cold and snowy weekend but we were sure it wouldn’t stop us from bagging our deer.

You see, I had canceled too many camping trips in the past and recently purchased a four season family camping tent and some thermal sleeping bags to prevent it from happening again. The camping tent sleeps eight people so I knew there would be plenty of room for the four of us and our gear. I also knew we’d be protected because the four season camping tent is built to conquer all kinds of bad weather.

As Friday approached, I packed all my supplies with complete confidence that we’d be going camping as planned. What’s even better is that hunters without the right camping equipment would be staying home. Less hunters in the forest would mean more deer for us. Also, you know how it seems like the deer know exactly when hunting season starts? Well, maybe because of the bad weather they wouldn’t be quite so careful.

Friday finally arrived and we packed our camping gear in the car and headed for the woods. All of a sudden it dawned on me that we forgot the picnic backpacks with the sandwiches for our first day in it. We don’t cook on Friday because by the time we get to camp and set up our gear, it’s too late to bother cooking. After the first night though, we take out our barbecue tools and grill up dinner on our portable grill.

Finally we were on the highway. I couldn’t wait to get to hunting camp and set up our camping equipment before the bad weather set in. For me there’s nothing better than a weekend at hunting camp with my best pals and the anticipation of the hunt to come. Stay tuned and I’ll tell you how we did on our bad weather hunting trip.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

