Part Three Of Hunting Trip

The next morning we got up early and crawled out of our sleeping bags and looked out the door of the family camping tent and snow covered everything the trees were beautiful covered with snow. It was a picture perfect morning for deer hunting. This was going to be the day to get our bucks if it was going to happen. So we got dressed for the cold and snow that covered the forest and grabbed a cup of hot coffee and headed down the hill with our deer rifles. The guys were going to head to the north side of the forest the direction the deer was headed the night before. I was going to head over to my favorite spot. My favorite spot was a acorn forest and I knew that after all the snow we got that the deer were going to be looking for food there.

It was still dark and was hard to find the acorn feeding ground but I found it about an hour before daylight. I put up my deer blind about 300 yards from the spot because I didn’t want to spook any deer off before it got daylight. I crawled in my deer blind and waited for light to arrive, It was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. Right at day break it seemed the forest started to come alive with critters. I could hear weird things in the woods if you have ever been there at that time I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. I got out my new buck grunt caller and got it ready. I also checked my rifle and made sure it was loaded and ready to go. Now all I had to do was wait for the big one and I knew it would just be a matter of time he was sure to show today with all the new snow.

No sooner than it got daylight I heard a shot in the direction the guys were hunting maybe they got one. I started to use my grunt caller to try to call a buck in but had no luck. About that time I saw a doe walking around some brush and she was headed right for the acorn feeding ground. Then I saw 4 more big does coming down a hill beside me and they was also headed for the feeding ground. That was sure a good sign that a buck would be around soon. During the rut which is the mating season for deer the bucks will follow the does around and check them to see if they are ready to mate. The buck always stays behind the does and shows last. I started to get hungry so i took a sandwich out of my picnic basket and ate while watching the does.

About an hour latter I heard crashing and loud noises coming from the forest on the back side of the feeding area. It was sure to be a buck I thought to myself. Then all a sudden I saw a big deer coming out of the thickets and was heading right for the other deer. As the deer got closer I could see horns it was a 8 point buck for sure. Then another deer came out behind that one and he looked like a monster I counted 12 points. It was going to be my lucky day. As soon as the two bucks got to the feeding area they started fighting. It was a awesome site that I never saw before in the wild. The smaller buck lost his battle with the monster buck and starting to leave the area. This was the time to take the monster I had been waiting on. I had a clear shot so I raised my rifle and put the crosshairs right on this chest and pulled the trigger. The monster fell to the ground right in this tracks.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

